Saturday, March 27, 2010

Great Lectures on the Cheap

NOTE from DearMYRTLE: This is just in from our friends via a press release from the Southern California Genealogical Society where it will be Ol' Myrt's honor to present a webinar. Its EASY to do this kind of VIRTUAL appearance with your local society, opening up all sorts of possibilities for sponsoring a lecture with Q & A from a distant genealogy speaker. SAVE society budgets when not having to pay to fly the speaker in, put him up in a hotel, etc. Here are some of the details from the annual Jamboree website.




Dear Genealogical Society Leaders, Program Chairs, and Members:

You are cordially invited to the Southern California Genealogical Society's Genealogy Jamboree on Saturday, June 12, 2010 --
and you don't even have to set foot in Burbank.

We would like everyone to be able to attend Jamboree, but we know that's just not possible. We have created several ways that you and your society can have a presence at the conference without actually being with us.

North America FlagsWith our geographic focus on Canada, Mexico, and
all 50 U.S. states, you will be sure to connect with potential members at Jamboree. Our attendees are researching in all 50 states and many foreign countries. Don't miss this opportunity to promote your society's activities and resources.

Read on to learn all of the ways that you can join us
at the 2010 Southern California Genealogy Jamboree without packing a suitcase.

FREE: Great Lectures on the Cheap



Jamboree traditionally devotes Saturday's breakfast session to an Effective Society Management event. This year, we are taking advantage of technology to offer the session to genealogical society leaders and members throughout the US and Canada. Log on from the comfort of your own home or from your genealogical society meeting's site and learn how to bring lecturers to your society at a fraction of the usual cost.

Popular genealogy speaker, podcaster and blogger, DearMYRTLE, will demonstrate how to use GoToMeeting and GoToWebinar to bring top-notch speakers to your society at an affordable cost. While MYRT is addressing the room full of in-person attendees, hundreds of other participants will be logging on to GoToWebinar to watch and hear her presentation.

Unfortunately we have to leave the orange juice and croissants up to you; webinar attendees get everything but the calories.

The Webinar is free but advance registration is required. Click HERE to get all the details and to register for the Webinar.

Saturday, June 12, 2010
7:20 a.m. PDT 9:20 a.m. CDT
8:20 a.m. MDT 10:20 a.m. EDT

No comments:

Post a Comment