Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Myrt's Webinar: Blogging for Beginners 20 Oct 2010

DearREADERS,
If you've been following me at all, you know that Ol' Myrt here thinks blogging is good for societies and  family history organizations to "get the word out". Blogs are also a great way for individuals to honor a specific ancestor and to keep track of research notes.

Well, now we've got a chance to discuss how to set up a blog and run with it.

Our friends at LegacyFamilyTree.com have invited me to teach this free webinar on Wednesday, 20 Oct 2010 via the internet. (That is how webinars are done!) The time zones for participation are as follows:

8pm Eastern US
7pm Central US
6pm Mountain US
5pm Pacific US
No special equipment is necessary to participate. Directions will be emailed to you once you've signed up. Your questions can be typed in the webinar screen, or stated in person if you call in during the webinar. Legacy's Geoff Rasmussen will be the host and moderator. I hear seating is limited, so be sure to sign up early. (Geoff tells me several hundred have already signed up!)

Blogging for Beginners with DearMYRTLE. Step-by-step approach to creating a blog, and making postings using the free service at Blogger.com. A great way to share genealogy research, post your society's newsletter, share info with extended family members. The webinar will also feature a survey of sample blogs, and links for additional help.
  
If you'd like to participate, register at the LegacyFamilyTree website.

Ol' Myrt's goal is to see you emerge from this class as successful bloggers, ready, willing and able to join the ranks of genebloggers who are taking advantage of free internet space to tell their ancestral stories.

Happy family tree climbing!
Myrt     :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.


No comments:

Post a Comment