Friday, March 25, 2011

Friday stuff

DearREADERS,
It seems genealogists do research during the week, and on the weekends we like to talk about it. This weekend in no exception from Ol' Myrt's vantage point.

FAIRFAX GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY CONFERENCE
Today marks the first day of the Fairfax Genealogical Society's annual spring conference. We got a sneak peek at the work of Warren Bittner, CG who spoke at our general meeting last night about federal land records at NARA. As a result of Warren's presentation there was a flurry of new registrations for the weekend conference which begins today. Registration is online through Eventbrite. See: www.fxgs.org/conference.html

An interesting component of the FxGS conference is  Speaker Consultations, where participants sign up in advance, submit paperwork and receive advice for future research. Additional presentations today include:
  • Impossible Immigrants! Case Studies in Tracing Immigrant Origins, presented by Warren Bittner, CG (4:30 PM to 6:30 PM) Enjoy an evening learning to solve "brick wall" immigrant problems. Learn how studying neighbors and relatives in the U.S. can lead to finding their places of origin. Then follow families in European records when they are not found in the towns where they were supposedly born. Learn techniques to correctly identify difficult families.
  • Mini Lecture #1 - What's New at Ancestry.com (7:15 PM to 7:45 PM) with Sabrina Peterson head of Ancestry.com's Global Digitization team. She is also the education chair for FXGS this year, and has done a masterful job arranging speakers and topics for general meetings.
  • Crossing the Ocean with the Internet, presented by Leslie Albrecht Huber (8:00 PM to 9:00 PM) With more sources coming online all the time, tracing your ancestors across the ocean to their European hometowns has never been easier. Familiarize yourself with some important websites for making your cross-continent connection. - Back by popular demand, Leslie spoke last fall at a general meeting, followed by a Saturday workshop.
  • ProGen12 participants are meeting at the BCG booth in the vendor hall Saturday during the first break.

WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?
Finally, a new episode! And I'll have to catch it on the DVR, darn it. NBC announces "Steve Buscemi The Golden Globe-winning actor embarks on a journey to discover the rogues and villains of his ancestry."

Tune in tonight - Friday, March 25th 8/7c, and catch the preview online.

During the show you can talk with other genealogists in a variety of ways --


AFTER THE TV SHOW, tune in for Thomas MacEntee's GeneaBloggers BlogTalk Radio Show. Its free, and its on the internet, so turn up those speakers -- or better yet, use a headset, so you can call in with your questions. GeneaBloggers Radio will be broadcast this evening, Friday, March 25, 2011 starting at 10PM EST, 9PM CST, 8PM MST and 7PM PST! Thomas tells us "the two hour show will feature special guest Megan Smolenyak who will discuss the latest television programs with a genealogical theme. In addition, we will have a panel of experts including Mark Lowe and Gayle Gresham to discuss how to find your black sheep ancestors." For details on how you can listen and even use the chat room, click here.

SATURDAY it's Lisa Alzo's Webinar
From GeneaWebinars.com we learn that Lisa is giving a fantastic webinar titled Life Stories: How to Write a Compelling Family History Narrative and its free! When: Sat, March 26, 10:00am – 11:30am "Life Stories: How to Write a Compelling Family History Narrative - 1:00 P.M. EST (March Madness Series)  A family history narrative is so much more than just the collection of names, dates, and places. You don’t have to be a professional writer to write a compelling family narrative. Learn about key techniques and tools to document your ancestors’ lives, or your own life story. Don't let charts and facts overwhelm you. Discover your creative muse and tell a story your relatives will want to read! Saturday, March 26, 2011 1:00 PM Eastern Time (US) 12:00 PM Central 11:00 AM Mountain 10:00 AM Pacific 2:00 PM Atlantic 6:00 PM GMT Advanced Registration Required. Space is limited. Click here to register.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Happy family tree climbing!
Myrt     :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy

2 comments:

  1. Thanks Myrt for mentioning me and GeneaBloggers Radio! I love being part of Friday Stuff!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This evening was very good - I cannot wait for tomorrow. FxGS always puts together a wonderful conference. Gotta go get my tickets ready... :-)
    Regards,
    Theresa

    ReplyDelete