Friday, February 24, 2012

Friday night highlights: TV. radio and hugs

DearREADERS,
Friday nights are always special when NBC hosts a new episode of Who Do You Think You Are? Tonight one of my favorites, Blair Underwood, will explore his roots. When he made his visit on the Today show this morning, he expressed surprise at learning of a great-grandfather, a free person of color living in Virginia, who owned two slaves.



RADIO isn't to be left behind, as Thomas MacEntee hosts another episode of GeneaBloggers Radio, right here on the internet, airing at 9pm Eastern, 8pm Central, 7pm Mountain and 6pm Pacific. Thomas explains "This week our show is entitled African-American Genealogy Resources with co-host Robin Foster of Saving Stories. Our special guests will include: Tim Pinnick, Family Tree University instructor and a recognized specialist in Black newspaper research who’ll discuss where to find newspapers and how to use them for your research; Shelley Murphy of the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Chapter of Central Virginia, whose current project is a book about the “free colored” families who homesteaded in Benzie and Manistee counties in Michigan; and Drusilla Pair, of the Find Your Folks blog, will update us on her recent “Sunday Crowns” presentation and the role of hats and churches in African-American genealogy."

SO WHAT ABOUT THE HUGS? Well, it seems baby Hannah will come to visit again and will spend the night. You can imagine how this sweet little gal warms this grandma's heart. This photo was taken at her parents' home when she was five and a half months old.



Happy family tree climbing!
Myrt     :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.




2 comments:

  1. Where would you recommend posting old unlabeled photos from the 1800s?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'd post them at: http://deadfred.com/submit_05.php

      Delete