Sunday, July 01, 2012

1940 Census: HELP with the 5 million record day challenge NOW

DearREADERS,
Finally, Mr. Myrt has gotten in on the indexing -- the 1940 census indexing project, co-sponsored by FamilySearch, FindMyPast.com, Archives.com, Archives.gov, NGS, FGS, APG and ProQuest. Gordon spent some time reading the online info about getting started, then registered his FamilySearch Indexing account. Although two of our grandchildren and three of their parents have spent several months getting their "genealogy on" by contributing to the indexing, it has taken Mr. Myrt a while to get started.

WHAT'S ALL THE FUSS?
FamilySearch has challenged it's volunteer indexers to make a push to join them for the "5 million Record Day" by indexing just a few more batches than usual, all in a 24-hour time period beginning TODAY. Together we will be able to index more than 5 million records, and truly make history.

HOW CAN YOU PARTICIPATE?
If you haven't joined the effort, why not take Mr. Myrt's lead and join today? There is lots of online assistance to get you started.


5 Million Day Local Start Times
  • Anchorage, Alaska: July 1 @ 4:00 PM
  • Berlin, Germany: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
  • Brussels, Belgium: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina: July 1 @ 9:00 PM
  • Chicago, Illinois: July 1 @ 7:00 PM
  • Honolulu, Hawaii: July 1 @ 2:00 PM
  • Johannesburg, South Africa: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
  • Kyiv, Ukraine: July 2 @ 3:00 AM
  • London, England: July 2 @ 1:00 AM
  • Los Angeles, California: July 1 @ 5:00 PM
  • Moscow, Russia: July 2 @ 4:00 AM
  • New York City, New York: July 1 @ 8:00 PM
  • Ottawa, Canada: July 1 @ 8:00 PM
  • Paris, France: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
  • Phoenix, Arizona: July 1 @ 5:00 PM
  • Rome, Italy: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
  • Salt Lake City, Utah: July 1 @ 6:00 PM
  • Santiago, Chile: July 1 @ 8:00 PM
  • Sao Paulo, Brazil: July 1 @ 9:00 PM
  • Stockholm, Sweden: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
  • Sydney, Australia: July 2 @ 10:00 AM
  • Warsaw, Poland: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
We're in the Salt Lake City (Mountain US) time zone, so our start time will coincide with our Second Life voice chat at the Family History Centre in Second Life. You can bet, I'll be indexing while we chat, and encouraging others like Mr. Myrt to get going.

Civilian Conservation Corps, Third Corps Area: typing class with W.P.A. instructor
 
 Let's get cracking!

PHOTO SOURCE: Franklin D. Roosevelt Library and Museum, Civilian Conservation Corps, Third Corps Area: typing class with W.P.A. instructor, 1933. This is a file from the Wikimedia Commons.

Happy family tree climbing!
Myrt     :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DearMYRTLE
Twitter: @DearMYRTLE
Second Life: Clarise Beaumont 


No comments:

Post a Comment