Thursday, September 13, 2012

WEBINAR: Creating a Group Google Calendar EARLY TOMORROW

From: Kathy Chastain
DearMYRTLE,

I have an idea I would like to bring to your attention. I live in Chattanooga. We are 2 hours from Nashville, Atlanta, Knoxville, Birmingham and other towns. There are so many presentations, workshops, classes, lectures, tours, etc. in our immediate area. But, sadly, there is not a location that details all of these events. So many events come and go, and nobody knows about them.
 
I would like to set up a web page like GeneaWebinars to document all of the events around Chattanooga and the surrounding areas. I do not know how to do this. I was hoping you would be willing to talk with me about how to get this project started and get it up and running.
I am in the slow process of contacting area libraries, societies, speakers, etc to notify them of what I am putting together, so that they will opt in to the project. I think everyone will be excited about the added publicity.
 
If this goes well, as I envision, I can keep adding states to the calender. I am excited about putting this together for the community.
Thanks for your time
Kathy Chastain
James County, Tennessee Historical Society
 
DearKATHY,

Here it is in a nutshell:

1. Create a Google Calendar with the name of your group.

2. Create a blog (on your own website, or perhaps at WordPress) using the name of your group. You can link to the Google Calendar at the blog, as I've done at GeneaWebinars.

Invite all regional societies and speakers to:
  • Contribute to the calendar
  • Contribute to the blog
As each organization agrees, then add the "contact person" to the administration of the blog as authors, and the calendar with rights to add and modify events.

Everyone is on the honor system to modify only their own calendar entries and blog posts.

ADVERTISE YOUR NEW CALENDAR AND BLOG
It is also advisable to create a 1/4 page "ad" graphic, and a logo graphic to distribute to all regional societies, letting them know about this new regional genealogy and history calendar. Also create a step-by-step blog post about how to "add" your group's Google Calendar to a website (embed, etc.) and how individuals with Google accounts can add the calendar to their list of calendars.

Tomorrow morning, Ol'Myrt will present a "short subject" DearMYRTLE Workshop Webinar "Creating a Google Calendar: for Societies and Individuals who want to get organized!"


All DearMYRTLE Workshop Webinars (c) feature a little bit of PowerPoint and a lot of demos.

REGISTER now:
https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/221753705

Title:     Google Calendars for Societies and Individuals DearMYRTLE Workshop Webinar
Date:     Friday, September 14, 2012
Time:     7:30 AM - 8:30 AM MDT



9:30am Eastern US
8:30am Central US
7:30am Mountain US
6:30am Pacific US

If you need a time zone converter, there is a great one located here:
http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html




After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the Webinar.

System Requirements
PC-based attendees
Required: Windows® 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server

Macintosh®-based attendees
Required: Mac OS® X 10.5 or newer

Mobile attendees
Required: iPhone®/iPad®/Android™ smartphone or tablet
   


Happy family tree climbing! 
Myrt     :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.

Blog: http://blog.DearMYRTLE.com 
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DearMYRTLE
Twitter: @DearMYRTLE
G+: +Pat Richley-Erickson
Second Life: Clarise Beaumont    
 
 
 
 


No comments:

Post a Comment