Thursday, January 02, 2014

TNA: free webinars Jan-Jun 2014

DearREADERS,
Just heard from our gal in London, +Audrey Collins who explains TNA The National Archives (UK) is going to start hosting webinars! This is fantastic news, particularly to those like Ol' Myrt who have been following TNA through it's podcast series.



From the promo website, we read: 

"The National Archives' record specialists will be running a series of free webinars, focusing on different series of records and the research skills that you will need to make the most of them. 

Our 2014 webinars will help you to begin your research in the areas below. Select a topic for more detail.

SOURCE: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/records/webinars.htm
 
That site also explains webinars, and how to register. Each webinar will be recorded.

Ol' Myrt here did a little calculating for the time zone conversion. The webinars are being held at 2pm London time, so perhaps this little addition will prove helpful to TNA's international audience.

London (United Kingdom - England)
Monday, January 20, 2014 at 2:00:00 PM
UTC
New York (U.S.A. - New York)
Monday, January 20, 2014 at 9:00:00 AM
UTC-5 hours
Chicago (U.S.A. - Illinois)
Monday, January 20, 2014 at 8:00:00 AM
UTC-6 hours
Salt Lake City (U.S.A. - Utah)
Monday, January 20, 2014 at 7:00:00 AM
UTC-7 hours
Los Angeles (U.S.A. - California)
Monday, January 20, 2014 at 6:00:00 AM
UTC-8 hours
Sydney (Australia - New South Wales)
Tuesday, January 21, 2014 at 1:00:00 AM
UTC+11 hours
Auckland (New Zealand)
Tuesday, January 21, 2014 at 3:00:00 AM
UTC+13 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT)
 



For other locations, please refer to Time Zone Converter:



Happy family tree climbing!

Myrt :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.

Blog: http://blog.DearMYRTLE.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DearMYRTLE
G+ DearMYRTLE Community
Twitter: @DearMYRTLE
Second Life: Clarise Beaumont
http://www.youtube.com/user/DearMYRTLE



2 comments:

  1. Thanks for the heads up! I'm glad they're going to record them - 1 am is a struggle for most Aussies!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Myrt, I'm afraid (according to the TNA website), most of the webinars are actually 4pm to 5pm GMT (not 2pm); the first, on how to use the Discovery catalogue, is indeed 2pm to 3pm GMT.

    ReplyDelete