Monday, March 03, 2014

Mondays with Myrt - 3 March 2014

DearREADERS,
Many friends in North America are snowed in today, with reports of new storms in the forecast. Just read the National Archives (US) is closed due to severe storm warnings. So keep warm, grab a cup of hot chocolate, and join us for Mondays with Myrt.

Just a few topics to get our conversation going:

WOMEN'S HISTORY MONTH
Are you joining  Lisa Alzo in the Fearless Females fun this March which is National Women's History Month?

Gena Philibert Ortega reports via Facebook: "This year in honor of Women's History Month I'm posting a book a day to help better understand our female ancestor's lives." You can check it out on Gena's Genealogy.


PRESERVATION
Olive Tree's Lorine McGinnis Schulze shared to the Google+ Preserving Family Heirlooms and Memories Community: Saving Those Memories!. It's about using her Toshiba DVD recorder with built-in tuner to transfer her hold VHS tapes to DVD. She says it's super fast and easy, and cheaper than using a service.

ADDING CITATIONS TO IMAGES
Carmel Galvin originally shared via a public post to Google+ this method of adding  citations to newspaper clippings over on the Library Currants blog. (Hint: Jing from Tech Smith is part of the equation.) Here's the link: http://librarycurrants.blogspot.com.au/2014/02/adding-citations-to-images.html.

STANDARDS
Today brought an announcement about Genealogy Standards from the Board for Certification of Genealogists. Ol' Myrt here added the links to comparison charts:
HOW TO TUNE IN TO MONDAYS WITH MYRT

Monday, 3 March 2014
Noon Eastern US (New York)
11am Central (Chicago)
10am Mountain (Denver, Salt Lake City)
9am Pacific (Los Angeles)

You may VIEW and COMMENT via the new-fangled EVENT page we've been experimenting with for about two months:
https://plus.google.com/b/102461242403735457058/102461242403735457058/posts/2mex6svF9is 

NOTE: If you don't have a Google+ account,
you'll be prompted to create one
when you click on the link above.


YES, you may VIEW LIVE or WATCH LATER in DearMYRTLE's Genealogy Community located here:   https://plus.google.com/b/102461242403735457058/communities/104382659430904043232
You may also find all archived hangouts over on  DearMYRTLE's YouTube Channel 

Happy family tree climbing!
Myrt :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.

Blog: http://blog.DearMYRTLE.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DearMYRTLE
G+ DearMYRTLE Community
Twitter: @DearMYRTLE
Second Life: Clarise Beaumont
http://www.youtube.com/user/DearMYRTLE



1 comment:

  1. Thank you for mentioning my post on Adding citations to images. It is also possible to do the same thing with the Snagit extension for Chrome which saves the image to Google Drive.

    ReplyDelete