Wednesday, July 09, 2014

DearMYRTLE's GeneaSleepOver: Worldwide Indexing Project

DearREADERS,
SO what's a genealogy blogger to do when FamilySearch Indexing announces a 24-hour Worldwide Indexing Event? Well, Ol' Myrt here is hosting:



WHAT
GeneaSleepover
24 hour Hangout on Air

WHEN
Sunday, 20 July - Monday, 21 July 2014
beginning at 6pm Mountain Time
(see more details about date/time zones below)

WHERE
http://www.tinyurl.com/MyrtsNext

INDEXING

  1. Register with FamilySearch Indexing at: https://familysearch.org/indexing/ 
  2. Commit to submitting at least one batch during the 24-hour period of the event.
  3. JOIN the panel, VIEW and COMMENT during DearMYRTLE's GeneaSleepover.


HOW TO PARTICIPATE IN THE GeneaSleepover


  1. JOIN the panel, VIEW and COMMENT over on Google+ here: http://www.tinyurl.com/MyrtsNext
    or
  2. You could simply VIEW the GeneaSleepover right here in DearMYRTLE's Blog:







DETAILS FROM FAMILYSEARCH INDEXING
"Join volunteers from around the world on July 20 and 21 for an international history-making event! The goal? For 50,000 indexers and arbitrators to submit at least one batch in a 24-hour period! Do more if you would like, but one batch is all that is required to be counted in the record!

The event begins at 00:00 coordinated universal time (UTC) on July 21, which is6:00 p.m. mountain daylight time (MDT or Utah time) on Sunday, July 20. It ends 24 hours later, at 23:59 UTC (or 5:59 p.m. MDT) on Monday, July 21. Local start times are below. 
One batch is all it takes. Don’t miss your chance on July 20 and 21 to be part of this history-making event! Plan now to get involved and add your name to the record-setting legacy! 
*New indexers can visit https://familysearch.org/indexing/ to learn more about how to join the FamilySearch indexing effort. 
Start times for various locations:
  • Sydney, Australia: July 21 @ 10:00 AM
  • Osaka, Japan: July 21 @ 9:00 AM
  • Moscow, Russia: July 21 @ 4:00 AM
  • Kyiv, Ukraine: July 21 @ 3:00 AM
  • Johannesburg, South Africa: July 21 @ 2:00 AM
  • Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Paris, Rome, Stockholm, Warsaw: July 21 @ 2:00 AM
  • London, England: July 21 @ 1:00 AM
  • São Paulo, Brazil: July 20 @ 9:00 PM
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina: July 20 @ 9:00 PM
  • Ottawa, Canada: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
  • Santiago, Chile: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
  • New York City, New York: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
  • Chicago, Illinois: July 20 @ 7:00 PM
  • Salt Lake City, Utah: July 20 @ 6:00 PM
  • Phoenix, Arizona: July 20 @ 5:00 PM
  • Los Angeles, California: July 20 @ 5:00 PM
  • Anchorage, Alaska: July 20 @ 4:00 PM
  • Honolulu, Hawaii: July 20 @ 2:00 PM
*New indexers can visit https://familysearch.org/indexing/ to learn more about how to join the FamilySearch indexing effort. 

JOIN the panel and COMMENT in DearMYRTLE's Genealogy Community on Google+ at: http://tinyurl.com/MyrtsNext

#Genealogy   #FamilySearchIndexing   #GeneaSleepover   #FamilySearch  

Happy family tree climbing!
Myrt :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.

Blog: http://blog.DearMYRTLE.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DearMYRTLE
G+ DearMYRTLE Community
Twitter: @DearMYRTLE
Second Life: Clarise Beaumont
http://www.youtube.com/user/DearMYRTLE



4 comments:

  1. What Fun! 24 hours with Myrt and 24 hours of indexing! Count me in - I just adore sleepovers!

    ReplyDelete
  2. And nobody can put popcorn in your sleeping bag or mayonnaise in your hair! Goody!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Just downloaded the software from the website, now to work out which batch to complete as there is only 1 batch currently for the UK apparently!

    ReplyDelete