Search This Blog

Loading...

Friday, December 05, 2014

IGHR registration: Jan 20, 2015

DearREADERS,
OK, I've been working on next year's calendar, and what should pop up in Ol' Myrt's inbox but news of the registration date for the Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR), affectionately known as "Samford." It's a rigorous week-long instructor-lead course with multiple classes per day, students working late into the night homework assignments and it's all about genealogy.

Special congratulations go out to +Judy G. Russell who has been named the new coordinator of the Advanced Methodology course. Now I'm in a quandary, as I had planned to take Dr. Jones' writing course. Judy's sounds mighty interesting for a compare/contrast with what I've learned from Elizabeth Shown Mills. What's Ol' Myrt to do? I can also recommend each of the other course coordinators as I've either taken intensive classes or courses from Pam, Angela, Craig, Linda, Rick, Mark, Elissa and Victor. Gosh, what a line-up. Each course typically fills up within 5-10 minutes on registration day.

  1. Methods and Sources (Coordinator: Pam Sayre)
  2. Intermediate Genealogy & Historical Studies (Coordinator: Angela McGhie)
  3. Advanced Methodology & Evidence Analysis (Coordinator: Judy Russell)
  4. Writing & Publishing for Genealogists (Coordinator: Tom Jones)
  5. Military Records II (Coordinator: Craig Scott)
  6. The Five Civilized Tribes: The Records & Where to Find Them (Coordinator: Linda Geiger)
  7. Land Records: Using Maps (Coordinator: Rick Sayre)
  8. Research in the South: The Colonies of the South (Coordinator: Mark Lowe)
  9. Genealogy as a Profession (Coordinator: Elissa Powell)
  10. Virginia's Land & Military Conflicts (Coordinator: Victor Dunn)



We are happy to announce that registration for the Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR) for 2015 will open Tuesday, January 20, 2015, at 11:00 a.m. Eastern time (10:00 a.m. Central, 9:00 a.m. Mountain, 8:00 a.m. Pacific). A link will be provided on the IGHR Registration page (http://samford.libguides.com/ighr-registration) to the online registration at that time. If this is your first time registering or if you just want a refresher on what to expect, please consult the downloadable online registration guide (http://ighr.samford.edu/IGHR101_online-reg-2014.pdf).
To prevent an overload of the online registration system, the opening of course registration will be staggered with different courses being opened each half-hour.


Opening at 11:00 a.m. Eastern (10:00 a.m. Central):
Course 3: Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis
Course 9: Genealogy as a Profession


Opening at 11:30 a.m. Eastern (10:30 a.m. Central):
Course 4: Writing & Publishing for Genealogists
Course 6: The Five Civilized Tribes: The Records and Where to Find Them


Opening at 12:00 p.m. Eastern (11:00 a.m. Central):
Course 8: Research in the South: The Colonies of the South
Course 10: Virginia's Land and; Military Conflicts


Opening at 12:30 p.m. Eastern (11:30 a.m. Central):
Course 2: Intermediate Genealogy and Historical Studies
Course 7: Land Records: Using Maps


Opening at 1:00 p.m. Eastern (12:00 p.m. Central):
Course 1: Methods and Sources
Course 5. Military Records II


Every year, some courses fill up in a matter of minutes, so be sure to be wherever you have your fastest internet connection at registration time.

Each time a new set of courses opens for registration, an email will be sent to the IGHR-L list. If you do not wish to receive these emails, please unsubscribe from the list at: http://maillists.samford.edu/mailman/listinfo/ighr-l
The Institute itself will take place on June 7-12, 2015.

For more information, visit the IGHR website at http://samford.libguides.com/ighr/.




Happy family tree climbing!
Myrt :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.

Blog: http://blog.DearMYRTLE.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DearMYRTLE
G+ DearMYRTLE Community
Twitter: @DearMYRTLE
Second Life: Clarise Beaumont
http://www.youtube.com/user/DearMYRTLE

www.RootsTech.org