Search This Blog

Loading...

Monday, April 06, 2015

Call for MGP3 Study Group Panelists

DearREADERS,
DearMYRTLE and +Cousin Russ look forward to hosting the third "MGP Study Group" focusing on Dr. Jones' Mastering Genealogical Proof in nine 2-hour sessions. There is homework posted in each chapter with suggested answers at the end of the book. This time, please read the chapter and finish your homework for the chapter BEFORE each session.

LINK TO APPLICATION
http://goo.gl/forms/iVW3cEVUKJ





MANUAL

Thomas W. Jones, Mastering Genealogical Proof  (Arlington, Virginia: National Genealogical Society, 2013). [Book available from the publisher at http://www.ngsgenealogy.org/cs/mastering_genealogical_proof , also available in Kindle format through Amazon.com]

PREREQUISITES
1. Purchase Mastering Genealogical Proof.

2. Review MGP Study Group 1 (US focused) videos:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLR41jOFxoDYw5glhWOY-1JcW931SnMuMv

3. Review MGP Study Group 2 (UK focused) videos:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLR41jOFxoDYwz4j9fDArMTF2PC5idg0RM

4. Review MGP1 Study Group Copyright Guidelines
http://youtu.be/uFpET_NWFeU?list=PLR41jOFxoDYw5glhWOY-1JcW931SnMuMv


5. Equipment - Wired speed internet, a headset microphone and webcam.

WHERE

http://bit.ly/MyrtsNext


WHEN
Noon Eastern US (New York)
11am Central US (Chicago)
10am Mountain US (Denver, Salt Lake City)
9am Pacific US (Los Angeles)


If you need a time zone converter, here's one DearMYRTLE recommends:
http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html
 

Panelist Orientation will take place on Thursday, 30 April 2015 at 9pm Eastern, 8pm Central, 7pm Mountain, 6pm Pacific US Time Zones.
 
Study Group Sessions will be held Fridays as follows:
1 May 2015 – Chapter 1 - Genealogy’s Standard of Proof
8 May 2015 – Chapter 2 – Concepts Fundamental to the GPS
(break for NGS)
22 May 2015 – Chapter 3 – GPS Element 1: Thorough Research
29 May 2015 – Chapter 4 – GPS Element 2: Source Citations
5 June 2015 – Chapter 5 - GPS Element 3: Analysis and Correlation
(Break)
19 June 2015 – Chapter 6 – GPS Element 4: Resolving Conflicts and Assembling Evidence
26 June 2015 – Chapter 7 – GPS Element 5: The Written Conclusion
(break)
10 July 2015 – Chapter 8 – Using the GPS
(break)
31 July 2015 - Chapter 9 - Conclusion

So it's simple. If you value the work Ol' Myrt, +Cousin Russ and our beloved panelists do week in and week out on your behalf, please:

 
Check the GeneaWebinars Calendar for exact dates of upcoming DearMYRTLE study groups and Hangouts on Air, in addition to over 200 hours of online genealogy classes, webinars and tweetchats from other hosts and presenters in the next 12 months.

IMAGE: www.GeneaWebinars.com


Happy family tree climbing!
Myrt :)
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.

Blog: http://blog.DearMYRTLE.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/DearMYRTLE
G+ DearMYRTLE Community
Twitter: @DearMYRTLE
Second Life: Clarise Beaumont
http://www.youtube.com/user/DearMYRTLE