Sunday, January 15, 2017

DearMYRTLE Hangouts and events - Week of 15 Jan 2017



DearREADERS,
Back in the saddle again. Excited to host three powerful genealogy hangouts this week. First on the docket, our flagship event Mondays with Myrt will be held 16 Jan 2017. We make time to discuss anything and everything that's come across our genea-desks this past week. The live broadcast begins as follows: Noon Eastern US (New York), 11am Central US (Chicago), 10am Mountain US (Denver, Salt Lake City), 9am Pacific US (Los Angeles), UTC-7 hours.
Here in the United States we will observe a national holiday on Monday, 16 January 2017, honoring the life of Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. I particularly remember him for his non-violent approach toward improving race relations during the latter part of his brief 13-year ministry. Though Dr. King died at the hands of an assassin, his work continues to influence us here in America and throughout the world.
Drawing inspiration from both his Christian faith and the peaceful teachings of Mahatma Gandhi, Dr. King led a nonviolent movement in the late 1950’s and ‘60s to achieve legal equality for African-Americans in the United States.  Source: About Dr. King, the King Center website (http://www.thekingcenter.org : accessed 15 Jan 2017.)

IMAGE: Courtesy of  Nobel Foundation - http://nobelprize.org/, Public Domain
https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=9719576
Wednesday, 18 Jan 2017, our GPS Study Group will be discussing "Chapter 3: Evaluating the Records" from Genealogical Proof Standard: Building a Solid Case 4th Revised Edition by Christine Rose. This chapter includes what to do when getting "hung up." Our live broadcast begins as follows:
Noon Eastern US (New York), 11am Central US (Chicago), 10am Mountain US (Denver, Salt Lake City), 9am Pacific US (Los Angeles), UTC-7 hours. Homework is to be submitted in advance, by Noon Mountain US on Monday 16th.



Wednesday, 18 Jan 2017 we will tame our DNA dragons with the debut of the DNAGen Study Group Chapter 1 - Basic Genetics. This hangout will be run differently in that:
  • One must attend the *live* hangout.
  • There will be no recording available for later viewing.
  • This study group will meet monthly, rather than weekly.
  • Our instructor will assist us as we work through the chapter exercises.
  • Syllabus: Chapter 1 "Basic Genetics" in Genetic Genealogy in Practice by Blaine T. Bettinger and Debbie Parker Wayne, available in Kindle and paperback at: https://www.amazon.com/Genetic-Genealogy-Practice-Blaine-Bettinger/dp/1935815229
The live broadcast will begin at 9pm Eastern US (New York), 8pm Central US (Chicago), 7pm Mountain US (Denver, Salt Lake City), 6pm Pacific US (Los Angeles), UTC-7 hours.


See you at RootsTech 2017. Register here.

Hangouts: Pay what you want. So it's simple. If you value the work Ol' Myrt, +Cousin Russ and our beloved panelists do week in and week out on your behalf, please:

Check the DearMYRTLE Hangouts Calendar for upcoming study groups and hangouts. There you'll find links to the GeneaConference (in-person) and the GeneaWebinars Calendar with over over 200 hours of online genealogy classes, webinars, live streams and tweetchats from other hosts and presenters over the next 12 months.