Monday, December 29, 2008

Call for Nominations Deadline Extended -- Genealogical Publishing Company Award

NOTE from DearMYRTLE: The following has been posted here and there on genealogy mailing lists by our friends at Please address all inquiries to

Call for Nominations Deadline Extended -- Genealogical Publishing Company Award

The Genealogical Publishing Company Award Committee, History Section, Reference and User Services Association of the American Library Association continues to seek nominations for the 2009 award recipient. The award, established in 1992, consists of $1,500 cash, with a citation, to a librarian, library, or publisher who has achieved excellence in historical reference and research librarianship.

Sponsored by Genealogical Publishing Company, a major distributor of genealogical works, this award is intended as a career achievement award for persons who have made ongoing contributions to history librarianship over many years and\or who have been active in the History Section of ALA. Nominees must presently be a member of the RUSA History Section.

The nominations will be evaluated for exceptional accomplishment in such fields as bibliography, book reviewing, indexing, professional association leadership, programs, and training. The list of previous winners can be viewed at

To nominate an individual, send a letter following the format below, detailing the individual's accomplishments and service to the field. The Committee understands that not all fields may be relevant for all nominees. Current membership in RUSA and the History Section is required. Nominations much be received by January 23, 2009. Nominations are to be sent, faxed, or e-mailed to:

Mary Mannix
C. Burr Artz Public Library
110 E. Patrick Street
Frederick, MD 21701
301-924-2054 (fax)

This format may be cut and pasted or downloaded. Accompanying materials are welcomed. Please keep in mind that as well known as the nominee may be, not everyone on the panel may be familiar with their work. Nominations will remain active for two years. Individuals nominated this year who do not receive the award will automatically be reconsidered for the 2010 award.